Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Eigenvalue problem with Dirichlet Boundary condition

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi all,

I am a newbie of comsol and try to solve eigenvalue problem in a finite region using the PDE module. When I try to impose Dirichlet boundary condition, it seems not working. The eigen-wavefunction's value at boundary does not equal to the value I set. Even when I set u(at boundary)=1, the eigen-wavefunction appears to be 0 at boundaries. What kind of stupid errors have I made in the attachment? I am really looking forward to your response.

Thank you for your time!

jason

6 Replies Last Post Nov 20, 2013, 8:38 p.m. EST
Josh Thomas Certified Consultant

Posted: 1 decade ago Nov 19, 2013, 12:04 p.m. EST
Jason-

For Eigenvalue problems in COMSOL, in my experience, any prescribed values of the dependent variable (no matter the magnitude) are taken to be zero.

Since you don't get magnitude information (only mode shape results) from an eigenvalue problem anyway, are you sure you really are looking for a difference in results between setting r=1 and r=0 along the outside boundary?

--
Best regards,
Josh Thomas
AltaSim Technologies
Jason- For Eigenvalue problems in COMSOL, in my experience, any prescribed values of the dependent variable (no matter the magnitude) are taken to be zero. Since you don't get magnitude information (only mode shape results) from an eigenvalue problem anyway, are you sure you really are looking for a difference in results between setting r=1 and r=0 along the outside boundary? -- Best regards, Josh Thomas AltaSim Technologies

Posted: 1 decade ago Nov 19, 2013, 8:06 p.m. EST
Hi Josh,