Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to...

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hey - I'm an undergrad working on a summer project, and this is an absolute "newbie" set of questions, but if you can help me in any way, I'd appreciate it (alot!):

I have a 2D rectangular geometry problem, modeling the concentration of oxygen in a basic rectangular microfluidic channel with advection and diffusion, for steady state. My "simple" subdomain being a rectangle, there are 4 boundaries. The first boundary (on the left) is the maximum solubility of oxygen in cell culture media, so it is (obviously) a concentration. The bottom boundary is a constant flux of cells consuming oxygen, which I approximate with a set of kinetics to obtain a consistent mol/m^2*s value. The right boundary is the outlet (convective flux). But the top is where the trick is. I have a value for a mass transfer coefficient k, and the flux through the top is generated by the difference between the saturated concentration of oxygen in the material that is above the channel Csat (which is higher than the max solubility of oxygen in the media that is flowing through the channel) and whatever the value is for the concentration along the top of the channel (call it Ctop) at each x. i.e. flux through the top =k*(Csat-Ctop(x)) [eq 1]

So, Questions:

1. I want to limit myself to downward diffusion (i.e. anisotropic) how do I do that? I know that it's the matrix for anisotropic diffusion (under subdomain settings), but what does each value there represent? How do I get my diffusion "just down"?
2. I believe that I use one of the "coupling variable" features, but how can I extract the concentration from the interior of the boundary at the top of the channel to make it available for the expression that I will use to generate the flux at the top? [eq 1]