Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Simple supported boundary condition in Comsol

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi, guys. I'm actually studying cylindrical sound diffusers using Comsol 4.3a and I need to add simply supported boundary conditions. Is there any way to do it? I have noticed there's several conditions (displacement, acceleration, etc) and I don't know if it's possible to combine two or more to simulate a simply supported boundary condition.

Greetings from Valdivia, Chile.

3 Replies Last Post Dec 12, 2012, 1:32 a.m. EST
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Dec 11, 2012, 2:31 a.m. EST
Hola Marco

Good to hear that COMSOL is used in Chile too, even if the number of reps are low in south America, well the the web makes the distance shorter ;)

I'm not sure I give you the full image, particularly because ACO is on of the module I'm missing the most myself, but normally you have the prescribed displacement velocity and acceleration for "wall" which are, from my understanding, "hard walls" with or without motion, but you should also have a "spring funcdation" BC for "softer links" to ground via a spring and optionally a damper.

As ACO normally solves only for pressure and you have no gravity effects you do not necesarily need to constrain all 6 DoF as for structural

Hope this helps on the way

--
Good luck
Ivar