Hyperelastic Seal with holes

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

I want to use the Hyperelastic Seal model (https://www.comsol.com/model/hyperelastic-seal-206) with small hole added. In this way, the confined air can escape from the hole during seal compression.

Can I simply modify the existing model or need a fully coupled FSI?

Thank you.

3 Replies Last Post Feb 6, 2024, 2:49 a.m. EST
Henrik Sönnerlind COMSOL Employee

Posted: 3 months ago Feb 1, 2024, 4:13 a.m. EST

I studied a similar problem about 25 years ago. It is a very interesting problem, because the apparent seal stiffness (and damping) becomes strongly dependent on the compression speed. By selecting an appropriate size and spacing of the evacuation holes, you can tune the dynamic properties of the seal.

An approach that worked well (experimentally verified) was to not model the evacuation hole, but just solve an extra equation.

The assumtion is then that the evacuation flow velocity is controlled by the difference between the current pressure inside the seal and the external pressure. When the evacuation mass flow is thus known, the rate of pressure reduction inside the seal can be computed.

-------------------
Henrik Sönnerlind
COMSOL
I studied a similar problem about 25 years ago. It is a very interesting problem, because the apparent seal stiffness (and damping) becomes strongly dependent on the compression speed. By selecting an appropriate size and spacing of the evacuation holes, you can tune the dynamic properties of the seal. An approach that worked well (experimentally verified) was to not model the evacuation hole, but just solve an extra equation. The assumtion is then that the evacuation flow velocity is controlled by the difference between the current pressure inside the seal and the external pressure. When the evacuation mass flow is thus known, the rate of pressure reduction inside the seal can be computed.