Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

How to copy solved temperature of one object to another object of identical meshing

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi, I am new to COMSOL. After getting the solution of a study, I need to copy the temperature of one object to another object of idetical shape so that I can initialize a new study from there. In this way, I want iteratively perform a study. At present I can export the solution temperature to a file, then create an interpolation function from that file and initialize the next study. However, in the process of exporting to a file and reloading, a lot of NaNs are created due to the narrow structures of the object. However, my objects have same mesh structure (created using copy functionality of the mesh). Hence is it possible to copy the temperature of one object to another with identical meshing. If so, how? Please help

3 Replies Last Post Oct 21, 2023, 3:34 a.m. EDT
Dave Greve Certified Consultant

Posted: 6 months ago Oct 16, 2023, 3:45 p.m. EDT
Updated: 6 months ago Oct 16, 2023, 3:40 p.m. EDT

I can't be certain without seeing your (reduced) file (hint, hint!). However, usually if you want to use the results of a previous study in a new study with the same geometry- you can refer to the previous results. No need for a stored file and interpolation.

I can't be certain without seeing your (reduced) file (hint, hint!). However, usually if you want to use the results of a previous study in a new study with the same geometry- you can refer to the previous results. No need for a stored file and interpolation.

Lars Gregersen COMSOL Employee

Posted: 6 months ago Oct 17, 2023, 4:01 a.m. EDT

Hi Avishek