Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

DC magnetic state of ferrite

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi!!
could anyone please guide me about how to find the DC magnetic state of ferrite in Comsol's RF module.sorry for a vague question but i am pretty new to COMSOL as well as electromagnetics domain so i am not very much clear about the way to follow.

4 Replies Last Post Oct 22, 2012, 2:54 a.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Oct 21, 2012, 3:13 p.m. EDT
Hi

what are you modelling ?
a ferrite magnet and need to define this in COMSOl ?,

then add an ampere law node for the magnet material domain, select the BH to Magnetisation and enter the magnetisation value of the Hc for your magnet. Note: this is a simplification and only truely valid for the latest high quality rare earth magnets, as else mu_r of the magnet is not constant with the field and you need to use full BH curves to give the true magnet behaviour.

Chek the web with google on Ferrite magnets, you get most info from there today ;)
And if you are starting with COMSOL, then go carefully over the library mdels for the related field you want to study, this is the best way to learn

--
Good luck
Ivar