Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

help with matlab comsol - how to work with model physics

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi, i have been working on COMSOL for several months and only recently started trying to script my work.
I am trying to run multiple cases of electrical current studies, which differ by different settings in model physics. Specifically, setting different surface components to be at certain electrical potential.
I looked through the help api I have on hand, but found very limited commands working with model physics. I wonder if anyone can help me out?
Thanks a lot.

For example, refer to the attached image.
I want to run 3 cases of study. First, setting top small square to be at 10V. Run the study, and gather data at certain locations; then setting two other small square to be at 10V respectively.
This is merely an example. The actual model that I am working with involves many more cases and proved impractical running by hand.

4 Replies Last Post Apr 2, 2012, 6:13 a.m. EDT

Posted: 1 decade ago Mar 27, 2012, 2:41 a.m. EDT
What I usually do in a case such as yours, is:
* Start with the full model or the simpler example model.
* Load it in the Comsol GUI.
* Reset history (from the File menu).
* Make the modification of interest, such as reassigning the boundary conditions in your case.
* Save the model as Model M-File (from the File menu).
The API commands pertaining to the modifcation of interest are then the last one(s) in the resulting .m file. It's usually rather straightforward to generalize those commands to apply to all other cases as well. It may help, though, to define the appropriate selections in the Comsol model first.