Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Pressure, Temperature, and Material Deformation Coupling

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I'm very new to COMSOL and can't seem to figure out how to solve this problem or find any tutorials for it. I essentially have a sealed hollow box (filled with air) with thin walls. I am trying to model how changes in the external temperature and pressure affect the deformation of the thin wall and how both of those affect the temperature and pressure of the air inside the box (internal pressure is the most important parameter I need to model). I have a solid mechanics physics study that could succesfully model the deformation if I prescribed an internal pressure and external pressure, but did not seem to model changes in the internal pressure caused by the change in volume from the deformation. I then tried to add a Heat Transfer in Fluids model in an attempt to get pressure, but can only get temperature and again no pressure modeling. I then tried to couple the two using multi-physics. When I run the coupled study, I jut get the Temperature results and no deformation results or pressure results. Does anyone have any suggestions for how I can get the pressure to be a variable output and/or good tutorials that could help with coupling solid mechanics with fluid pressure and temperature changes? Am I using the wrong physics options?

Much thanks, Lyndie

3 Replies Last Post Jun 19, 2019, 2:22 a.m. EDT
Henrik Sönnerlind COMSOL Employee

Posted: 5 years ago Jun 17, 2019, 9:56 a.m. EDT
Updated: 5 years ago Jun 17, 2019, 9:56 a.m. EDT

Hi Lyndie,

I think the following blog posts can help you:
https://www.comsol.com/blogs/computing-controlling-volume-cavity
https://www.comsol.com/blogs/modeling-hydrostatic-pressure-fluid-deformable-container

Regards,
Henrik

-------------------