Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Eigenfrequency analysis with load

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi to all,

I am new in Comsol ( Comsol 3.5a ) and I am facing problem to find out eigenmodes in a simple structure WITH A LOAD APPLIED on a boundary. It will be very helpful if someone can give some advice.

I am trying to find out eigenfrequencies of Poly-Si surface(2D) in vacuum with a load applied , so to get acquainted with that kind of problem I started solving a very simple problem , I drew a rectangle of poly-Si ( width = 500e-6 , height= 5e-6 ) , I fixed the upper and lower boundary and after setting a load on one of free boundary I solved the model.

I get as result same eigenfrequencies I obtain when I solve the model without load.

I read others discussions and I understood it's not the right way, so I tried performing a static analysis , where I apply load , creating a moving mesh ( with all subdomain settings ... ) and then performing a eigenfrequency analysis on the deformed mesh ( after creating geometry from mesh..) .

When I solve results change but not as I expected, so I would like to know if , this time, it's the right way.

Thanks in advance for the answer.

Kind regards

Alessandro

2 Replies Last Post Apr 11, 2011, 2:48 p.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Apr 11, 2011, 11:19 a.m. EDT
Hi

in 3.5 you need to use Matlab to save the static load case and use it as a linearizion point for the eigenfrequency analysis (no need for matlab in V4). See the older threads on this subject

--
Good luck
Ivar