Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Eigenfrequency analysis of a simple poly-si structure

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi to all,

I am new in Comsol ( Comsol 3.5a ) and I am facing problem to find out eigenmodes in a simple structure.
It will be very helpful if someone can give some advice.

I am trying to perform an Eigenfrequency Analysis,in order to find out eigenfrequencies of Poly-Si surface(2D) in vacuum , so to get acquainted with that kind of problem I started solving a very simple problem , I drew a rectangle of poly-Si ( width = 500e-6 , height= 5e-6 ) , I fixed the upper and lower boundary and after meshing I solved the model.

I selected in the solve/solver manager window the "initial value expression" and "Use settings from initial value frame", and in order to get a more correct result I gave also , in the "search for eigenfrequencies around" dialog box , the frequency of 1st mode I expected.

So I have to deal with 3 main problems:

1 . When I solve the same problem ( without changing anything ) I get different results, in a considerable way for my purpose. ( I set in the " eigenfrequencies tolerance " dialog box 0.0 and also reducing the " relative tolerance " I get no result at all )

2. Results change in a very considerable way if I refine the mesh.

3. I woud like to know how to increase the number of digits I get as result.

To overcome that problem I tried using "adaptive mesh refinement" or extruding my geometry, but I got no result.

Finally I tried changing solver from the default linear system solver "direct(UMFPACK)" to "direct(SPOOLES)"