Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

time dependent capacitance

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Dear all

I am new in COMSOL. I have a few questions related to the capacitance.
1. How to compute capacitance in time dependent study ? I couldn’t find any capacitance in the postprocessing menu in COMSOL 4.4.
2. What is the equation that comsol use to compute the capacitance value? I mean what is the physics equation behind it?
3. I read that COMSOL solve the governing equations with finite element method. what kind of
finite element used by COMSOL to solve the equation? anyone know some userguides that I can learn about the computation technique?

Best regards,
Syarif

4 Replies Last Post Aug 3, 2017, 7:58 a.m. EDT

Posted: 9 years ago Jun 2, 2015, 7:12 a.m. EDT
Dear Syarif,

that depends on the used interface (electrostatic/electric currents) whether you get the capacitance or the admittance. You need a terminal instead of an applied potential to get these values as variable.

Kind regards,
Levin
Dear Syarif, that depends on the used interface (electrostatic/electric currents) whether you get the capacitance or the admittance. You need a terminal instead of an applied potential to get these values as variable. Kind regards, Levin

Posted: 9 years ago Jun 2, 2015, 10:31 a.m. EDT
Dear Levin.

Yes, I used electrostatic module and defined two terminals -time dependent voltage value for the first terminal, and zero voltage for the second terminal- as the boundary settings to compute the capacitance.