Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Modelling Compression of Material at a Rate

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

I am a beginner to COMSOL 4.2a and I would like to build a simple model where a material (a cylindrical block of polymer) is compressed at a rate of 10 mm/min.

Using Solid Mechanics, I was able to construct the cylinder and apply a boundary load. However, this is just an instantaneous load.

My question is how do I go about implementing a compression of the material at a rate of 10mm/min?

Thanks for your help!

-Adrian

5 Replies Last Post Jan 18, 2013, 10:17 a.m. EST
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Jan 17, 2013, 1:40 a.m. EST
Hi

you can work in th time domain, and say the displacement is 10[mm/s]*t, but try to smoothen the displacement velocity as you will get many transient at the beginning around t=0, one way to improve is to remove the inertial terms (2nd order derivatives) but then you remove all wave propagations. But you can also, if the time behaviour is not the essential use a stationary parametric sweep and increase either the force load with a parameter or impose a displacement with a parameter. You loose the time response but you see the displacement force response, interesting in particular if your material is nonlinear, or for large deformations

--
Good luck
Ivar