RF magnetic field enhancement in metallic enclosure, usage of Transition Boundary Condition

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello,

Currently I am studying the radio-frequency magnetic field created by a small circular current loop with oscillating current located outside of a closed metallic enclosure with very large dimensions and small thikness.

The metallic enclosure spans over about 20 m x 20 m x 10 m and is compound of 7 vacuum towers linked together by vacuum pipes as can be shown on the attached figure towers.png (or PR-Towers.stp). The thickness of all the system walls is 1.5 cm and is made of stainless steel taken from Comsol library (mu_r = 1.5, sigma = 1.3 MS/m). In order to avoid 3D mesh of themetallic walls, they have been replaced by a single surface on which a transition boundary condition is applied.

The coil has a radius of 35 mm and it can be oriented along the 3 main axes. It is positioned at the basis of the small tower located at x = 11.1 m from the crossing (origin of the reference frame). The current is 830 A in this study (the coil has in fact 830 loops), the applied frequencies range from 0.5 Hz to 1000 Hz.