Electric Field Streamlines Inconsistent

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hello

I am new to COMSOL and I am currently trying to create an electric field by using a block as a positive voltage terminal, which is inside of a sphere. The sphere itself is assigned the material of Air. Currently I am just using the physics controlled mesh and then after that clicking study. The issue is that the created streamlines for the Electric Field are bizzare and I can not make much sense of them. How do I correct this or make it better? For reference I am using the Electrostatic physics.

5 Replies Last Post Nov 19, 2023, 1:13 p.m. EST
Robert Koslover Certified Consultant

Posted: 6 months ago Oct 13, 2023, 12:05 a.m. EDT
Updated: 6 months ago Oct 13, 2023, 12:05 a.m. EDT

I just opened your file. Your external boundary is set at zero charge density, which does not seem physical to me (since it will cause the radial component of E to be zero), considering how the rest of your model is configured. If you instead set the outer surface to an electric potential (such as with V=0,) you'll get nice radially outward looking streamlines. I hope that helps.

-------------------
Scientific Applications & Research Associates (SARA) Inc.
www.comsol.com/partners-consultants/certified-consultants/sara
I just opened your file. Your external boundary is set at zero charge density, which does not seem physical to me (since it will cause the radial component of E to be zero), considering how the rest of your model is configured. If you instead set the outer surface to an electric potential (such as with V=0,) you'll get nice radially outward looking streamlines. I hope that helps.

Posted: 6 months ago Nov 1, 2023, 7:40 p.m. EDT
Updated: 6 months ago Nov 1, 2023, 7:59 p.m. EDT