Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

deformation of a moving submerged object

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi All,

I'm a beginner of the Comsol. I have to model the deformation of a submerged flexible object. I use FSI model, but I'm wondering that the motion and deformation of this circular object can be modeled or not. I f any one have a clue. please help me. so far I developed a model to analyse the deformation of an fixed object, but it does not show any deformation.
Please help me.

2 Replies Last Post Jun 12, 2012, 5:38 p.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Jun 12, 2012, 1:46 a.m. EDT
Hi

first I would advise to read carefully a few times the different docs, as FSi is already complex physics and there are many things to learn.

a few tips:
use Parameters for contant values and not Variables, use variables for things that might change during the simulation or depend on the simulation results

Point constraints are tricky, try using as far as possible boundary constraints (your fixed "point" replace it by a small circle and fix the boundary of the circle

You are in 2D, be aware that this means flow between two plates 1 meter deep (nothing wrong with that but its not 100% as a round "tube/pipe"

Mesh, try the default physics meshing, as yours has no boundary layer and will not easy the convergence of the solver

You have noslip conditions, this mans that the flow has "0" velocity at the walls, but you impose a flat inlet velocity, its better to use a parabolic velocity profile or a laminar inflow

turn on the "defomration" node to see your "solid" deform