Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

Applying a sinusoidal voltage in a time dependent study

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi,

I am trying to apply a sinusoidal voltage on the boundary of a rectangular transducer. I am using the equation: V=Asin(2pift) for which I define the variables on the global definitions section. However, I am not sure as to what 't' represents. Isn't the simulation time/variable? How am I going to define it at the global definitions section since it changes for different simulations?

7 Replies Last Post Feb 25, 2021, 6:19 a.m. EST

Posted: 3 years ago Feb 23, 2021, 3:21 p.m. EST

Hi,

I tried to help even if I am not an expert. If you want to apply a time-dependent voltage, you have to select electric potential in "electrostatic interface", and you can define directly the voltage writing the expression that you need : V= Asin(2pift). "t" represents the time and you don't need to define it in the global defintions I think. I hope this helps.

Hi, I tried to help even if I am not an expert. If you want to apply a time-dependent voltage, you have to select electric potential in "electrostatic interface", and you can define directly the voltage writing the expression that you need : V= A*sin(2*pi*f*t). "t" represents the time and you don't need to define it in the global defintions I think. I hope this helps.

Posted: 3 years ago Feb 24, 2021, 9:42 a.m. EST

Hi,

Thank you for your reply.

It worked and I don't get an error. However, I can't see a sinusoidal wave formed and I get a constant output similar to when I was applying a constant DC voltage. Do you happen to know why is that the case?