Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

mesh error: how to find the point?

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Hi to everybody,
I'm new to Comsol and maybe my question can result a little bit stupid.. in this case please forgive me!

I'm tring to mesh a 3D spring pipe (diameter 5.5 mm) with some small holes (diameter 1 mm). Everytime the software gives me this kind of error:

"Failed to insert point.
Coordinate:
6.28319,5.40856"

I imagine that there is a problem in the geometry (that I have imported with the CAD import modul), but I can't understand how I can find these coordinates in my draw in order to try to fix the error...

Thanks a lot for your attention and help!

Roberta

5 Replies Last Post May 9, 2011, 3:42 a.m. EDT
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago May 8, 2011, 4:58 a.m. EDT
Hi

for "complex" or looping geometry it's worth to mesh manually, by parts, or even launch some seed points on critical edges / surfaces

--
Good luck
Ivar
Hi for "complex" or looping geometry it's worth to mesh manually, by parts, or even launch some seed points on critical edges / surfaces -- Good luck Ivar

Posted: 1 decade ago May 8, 2011, 7:54 a.m. EDT
Hi,

I agree with mr Ivar. Most of the times with complicated geometries I do mesh manually, however I have always been having problems with seeding a circle or a cylindrical surface.

Comsol uses polynomials to approximate a circle thus if I define the coordinates of a point using the equation of the circumference, the point is always outside the circle. Is there any way to avoid such a drawback? I have trying to change the settings for the approximation but, alas, to no avail!

Cheers