Note: This discussion is about an older version of the COMSOL Multiphysics® software. The information provided may be out of date.

Discussion Closed This discussion was created more than 6 months ago and has been closed. To start a new discussion with a link back to this one, click here.

TAYLOR DISPERSON: Instantenous Pulse Release of Dillute Solute and Effective Diffusivity

Please login with a confirmed email address before reporting spam

Can anybody tell me how to do this in COMSOL? I am new to the software. I would like to release a pulse of a dillute solute at the entrance to a 2D channel. I would like this to happen at time zero only and not at any time after that.

Also, I would like to calculate the effective diffusivity from this simulation. Please help!

PS: I know how to do everything except for these two things (I know how to get the flow field, I know how to couple a time dependent solute transfer with a steady flow field, etc)

3 Replies Last Post Mar 3, 2011, 2:42 p.m. EST
Ivar KJELBERG COMSOL Multiphysics(r) fan, retired, former "Senior Expert" at CSEM SA (CH)

Posted: 1 decade ago Mar 3, 2011, 1:07 p.m. EST
Hi

I'm not that often in the chemisty module, but if you want t input a pulse of E field or a concetration, I would use the gaussian or the step/pulse functions. You should use a smooth pulse to allow the solver to take some continuous derivatives of the changes to manage to follow. Then in a transient solver I believe you can see the decay via a probe or a line cut plot of the concetration over time. You can also define a variable to fit a decay function and get it to be optimised via a mean square by a global equation. There are a few discussions around this, for a single parameter you can do it without the optimisation module, for many parameters the optimisatin module is set up to make things quicker for you

--
Good luck
Ivar